Paroisse St. Denis Parish


Click here to edit subtitle

St. Denis Parish History

     The first church was built in 1909.  The first priest was Father Maurice Pierquin (1909-1913).  At his pastoral visit in June 1917, Msgr. Arthur Béliveau, Archbishop of St.Boniface, it was noted that there were 52 Catholic families in Haywood, and some parishioners had to stand outside during Mass, therefore, a new church, the present one, was built in 1919.  The notes indicate that the cost was $6,000.00.  Father Cyrille Allaire was pastor (1913-1921) then.

     In January 1937, 114 households with a population of 585 were reported.

     In 1941 the church was enlarged by adding two lean-tos, two bell towers and a sacristy.  Mr. Pierre Dedieu and Mr. Gaston Bernard of Haywood were the directors / overseers.  Electricity was brought to the church and furnaces were installed also in 1941.

     In 1945 the new modern liturgical style altar along with the Way of the Cross were put in and blessed by Msgr. Georges Cabana.  The new pews were installed in 1947 and two confessionals came in 1948.

     A fire caused by lightning destroyed the parish rectory in 1988 and many records were lost.  A new rectory was built but in 2000 we lost our resident priest so the rectory was rented out as a home.  Using the existing office in those premises was at times inconvenient for both the tenant and the parish personnel so a parish office was created in the space used as a chapel in the sacristy of the church.

     There are now approximately 200 Roman Catholics in the Haywood area.  There are about 60 persons who attend Sunday Mass regularly.  We do not have a resident priest but St.Denis Parish is a mission of the St. Claude Parish.  Both parishes are served by interim priests until a resident priest is assigned.

Priests of St. Denis, Haywood

Maurice Pierquin                                              1909 – 1911                                    1st resident priest

Cyrille Allaire                                                      1913 – 1921

Alfred Chamberland                                         1921 - 1925

Edmond Lavoie                                                  1925 - 1935

Jean-Marie Gagné                                             1935 - 1952

Gédéon Montminy                                            1952 – 1958

Louis Bédard                                                      1958 – 1962

Joseph Choiselat                                                1962 – 1966

Florent Labonté                                                 1966 – 1978

James Scharinger                                              1978 – 1980

Rosaire Gagné                                                    1980 – 1981

Lionel Thibeault                                                 1981 – 1983

Marcel Chaput                                                    1983 – 1988

Rhéal Forest                                                       1988 – 1995

Antoine VoVanHoa                                           1995 – 1998

Armand LeGal                                                    1998 – 2000

Rodrigue Bouchard                                           2000 – 2003                                     resident in St. Claude

Jean-Jacques Serceau                                       2003 – 2004                                     resident in St. Claude

Mgr. Roger Bazin                                               2004 – 2005                                     resident in St. Claude

Célestin Malengu Mubaya                                2005 – 2009                                     resident in St. Claude

Marcel Carrière                                                   2009 – 2012                                      resident in St. Claude

Guy Lavallée                                                        2012 – 2014                                      priest-moderator from Winnipeg

Louis Légaré                                                        2015 - 2016                                       priest-moderator from Winnipeg

Mgr.Bazin, Fr.John, Bishop, etc.                     2016 – 2018                                     various replacement priests

Solomon Arthur                                                  2018 - 2018                                       resident in St. Claude

John Tê Nguyen                                                  2018 -                                                priest-moderator from Holland Monastery